xfs
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 2/2][v2] blk-plug: don't flush nested plug lists

To: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@xxxxxxxxxx>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2][v2] blk-plug: don't flush nested plug lists
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@xxxxxx>
Date: Wed, 8 Apr 2015 18:13:55 +0200
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@xxxxxxxxx>, Ming Lei <tom.leiming@xxxxxxxxx>, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@xxxxxxxxxx>, Roger Pau Monn?? <roger.pau@xxxxxxxxxx>, Alasdair Kergon <agk@xxxxxxxxxx>, Mike Snitzer <snitzer@xxxxxxxxxx>, Neil Brown <neilb@xxxxxxx>, "Nicholas A. Bellinger" <nab@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Alexander Viro <viro@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Chris Mason <clm@xxxxxx>, Josef Bacik <jbacik@xxxxxx>, David Sterba <dsterba@xxxxxxx>, Theodore Ts'o <tytso@xxxxxxx>, Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@xxxxxxxxx>, Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@xxxxxxxxxx>, Changman Lee <cm224.lee@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@xxxxxxxxxx>, Mikulas Patocka <mikulas@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Rik van Riel <riel@xxxxxxxxxx>, Johannes Weiner <hannes@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@xxxxxxx>, Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@xxxxxxxxxx>, Dave Chinner <david@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, xfs@xxxxxxxxxxx, Christoph Hellwig <hch@xxxxxx>, Weston Andros Adamson <dros@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@xxxxxxxxxx>, Sagi Grimberg <sagig@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, Tejun Heo <tj@xxxxxxxxxx>, Fabian Frederick <fabf@xxxxxxxxx>, Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@xxxxxxxxx>, Ming Lei <ming.lei@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Wang Sheng-Hui <shhuiw@xxxxxxxxx>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@xxxxxxx>, Joe Perches <joe@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@xxxxxxx>, Namjae Jeon <namjae.jeon@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Mark Rustad <mark.d.rustad@xxxxxxxxx>, Jianyu Zhan <nasa4836@xxxxxxxxx>, Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@xxxxxxxxx>, Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@xxxxxxx>, Suleiman Souhlal <suleiman@xxxxxxxxxx>, linux-kernel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, dm-devel@xxxxxxxxxx, xen-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-raid@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-scsi@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, target-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-fsdevel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-aio@xxxxxxxxx, linux-btrfs@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-ext4@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-f2fs-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, cluster-devel@xxxxxxxxxx, linux-nfs@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-mm@xxxxxxxxx
Delivered-to: xfs@xxxxxxxxxxx
In-reply-to: <x49wq1nrcoe.fsf_-_@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
References: <1428347694-17704-1-git-send-email-jmoyer@xxxxxxxxxx> <1428347694-17704-2-git-send-email-jmoyer@xxxxxxxxxx> <x49wq1nrcoe.fsf_-_@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.17 (2007-11-01)
This looks good, but without the blk_finish_plug argument we're bound
to grow programming mistakes where people forget it.  Any chance we
could have annotations similar to say rcu_read_lock/rcu_read_unlock
or the spinlocks so that sparse warns about it?

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>