xfs
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 04/23] block: Abstract out bvec iterator

To: Kent Overstreet <kmo@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 04/23] block: Abstract out bvec iterator
From: Ed Cashin <ecashin@xxxxxxxxxx>
Date: Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:14:48 -0400
Cc: <axboe@xxxxxxxxx>, <linux-kernel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, <hch@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, <tj@xxxxxxxxxx>, <nab@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@xxxxxxxxx>, Nick Piggin <npiggin@xxxxxxxxx>, Lars Ellenberg <drbd-dev@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Jiri Kosina <jkosina@xxxxxxx>, Matthew Wilcox <willy@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Geoff Levand <geoff@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Yehuda Sadeh <yehuda@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Sage Weil <sage@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Alex Elder <elder@xxxxxxxxxxx>, <ceph-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Joshua Morris <josh.h.morris@xxxxxxxxxx>, Philip Kelleher <pjk1939@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Rusty Russell <rusty@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@xxxxxxxxxx>, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@xxxxxxxxxx>, Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@xxxxxxxx>, Neil Brown <neilb@xxxxxxx>, Alasdair Kergon <agk@xxxxxxxxxx>, Mike Snitzer <snitzer@xxxxxxxxxx>, <dm-devel@xxxxxxxxxx>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@xxxxxxxxxx>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@xxxxxxxxxx>, <linux390@xxxxxxxxxx>, Boaz Harrosh <bharrosh@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Benny Halevy <bhalevy@xxxxxxxxxx>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Alexander Viro <viro@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Chris Mason <chris.mason@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, Theodore Ts'o <tytso@xxxxxxx>, Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@xxxxxxxxx>, Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk.kim@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@xxxxxxxxxx>, Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@xxxxxxxxxx>, Joern Engel <joern@xxxxxxxxx>, Prasad Joshi <prasadjoshi.linux@xxxxxxxxx>, Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@xxxxxxxxxx>, KONISHI Ryusuke <konishi.ryusuke@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@xxxxxxxx>, Joel Becker <jlbec@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, Ben Myers <bpm@xxxxxxx>, <xfs@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@xxxxxxxxx>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@xxxxxxxxxx>, Len Brown <len.brown@xxxxxxxxx>, Pavel Machek <pavel@xxxxxx>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@xxxxxxx>, Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton.krzesinski@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Ben Hutchings <ben@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Guo Chao <yan@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@xxxxxxxxxx>, Selvan Mani <smani@xxxxxxxxxx>, Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@xxxxxxxxxx>, Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Roger Pau Monné <roger.pau@xxxxxxxxxx>, Jan Beulich <jbeulich@xxxxxxxx>, Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Ian Campbell <Ian.Campbell@xxxxxxxxxx>, Sebastian Ott <sebott@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@xxxxxxxxxx>, Minchan Kim <minchan@xxxxxxxxxx>, Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@xxxxxxxxxx>, Nitin Gupta <ngupta@xxxxxxxxxx>, Jerome Marchand <jmarchand@xxxxxxxxxx>, Joe Perches <joe@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Peng Tao <tao.peng@xxxxxxx>, Andy Adamson <andros@xxxxxxxxxx>, fanchaoting <fanchaoting@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Jie Liu <jeff.liu@xxxxxxxxxx>, Sunil Mushran <sunil.mushran@xxxxxxxxx>, "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@xxxxxxxxxx>, Namjae Jeon <namjae.jeon@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Pankaj Kumar <pankaj.km@xxxxxxxxxxx>, Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@xxxxxxxxxx>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@xxxxxxx>
Delivered-to: xfs@xxxxxxxxxxx
In-reply-to: <1383077896-4132-5-git-send-email-kmo@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
References: <1383077896-4132-1-git-send-email-kmo@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> <1383077896-4132-5-git-send-email-kmo@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
On Oct 29, 2013, at 4:17 PM, Kent Overstreet wrote:

> Immutable biovecs are going to require an explicit iterator. To
> implement immutable bvecs, a later patch is going to add a bi_bvec_done
> member to this struct; for now, this patch effectively just renames
> things.

Ack.  These patches pass sanity-check testing, too, for aoe.

-- 
  Ed Cashin
  ecashin@xxxxxxxxxx


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>