xfs
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: writeback tree status (for 3.2 merge window)

To: Christoph Hellwig <hch@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Subject: Re: writeback tree status (for 3.2 merge window)
From: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@xxxxxxxxx>
Date: Wed, 2 Nov 2011 23:13:55 +0800
Cc: "linux-fsdevel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx" <linux-fsdevel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@xxxxxxxxx>, Jan Kara <jack@xxxxxxx>, Curt Wohlgemuth <curtw@xxxxxxxxxx>, Michael Rubin <mrubin@xxxxxxxxxx>, Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@xxxxxx>, Dave Chinner <david@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Greg Thelen <gthelen@xxxxxxxxxx>, Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@xxxxxxxxx>, Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@xxxxxxxxxx>, Andrea Righi <arighi@xxxxxxxxxxx>, linux-mm <linux-mm@xxxxxxxxx>, LKML <linux-kernel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Tang Feng <feng.tang@xxxxxxxxx>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, xfs@xxxxxxxxxxx
In-reply-to: <20111102091012.GA25879@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
References: <20111101074347.GA23644@localhost> <20111102091012.GA25879@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.20 (2009-06-14)
On Wed, Nov 02, 2011 at 05:10:12AM -0400, Christoph Hellwig wrote:
> On Tue, Nov 01, 2011 at 03:43:47PM +0800, Wu Fengguang wrote:
> > Hi,
> > 
> > There are 3 patchsets sitting in the writeback tree.
> > 
> >         1) IO-less dirty throttling v12
> >         https://github.com/fengguang/linux/commits/dirty-throttling-v12
> > 
> >         2) writeback reasons tracing from Curt Wohlgemuth
> >         https://github.com/fengguang/linux/commits/writeback-reason
> > 
> >         3) writeback queuing changes from Jan Kara and me
> >         https://github.com/fengguang/linux/commits/requeue-io-wait
> > 
> > They have been merged into this branch testing in linux-next for a while:
> > 
> > https://github.com/fengguang/linux/commits/writeback-for-next
> > 
> > Since (3) still has an unresolved issue (detailed in the below
> > links), it looks better to hold it back for this merge window.
> 
> Given that we have run into issues so much with it that's proably
> the better idea.
> 
> To fix the originally reported issue with the missing file size updates
> in XFS we plan to simply log all filesize changes in XFS.  Currently I
> had this in the 3.3 queue, but in the worst case we might have to move
> this forward to 3.2.

OK. Anyway I'll report any progress early on (3).

> > The patches from (1,2) together with 2 tracing patches essential for
> > debugging (1) have been pushed to the "writeback-for-linus" branch:
> > 
> >         
> > http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/wfg/linux.git;a=shortlog;h=refs/heads/writeback-for-linus
> > 
> > If no objections, I'll send a pull request to Linus soon.
> 
> Please do so.  I'm really looking forward to see the I/O-less
> balance_dirty_pages in ASAP.

Done, thanks!

Thanks,
Fengguang

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>