xfs
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [patch 4/5] mm: filemap: pass __GFP_WRITE from grab_cache_page_write

To: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@xxxxxxxxxx>
Subject: Re: [patch 4/5] mm: filemap: pass __GFP_WRITE from grab_cache_page_write_begin()
From: Michal Hocko <mhocko@xxxxxxx>
Date: Fri, 30 Sep 2011 16:41:22 +0200
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@xxxxxxx>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Dave Chinner <david@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@xxxxxxxxx>, Jan Kara <jack@xxxxxxx>, Rik van Riel <riel@xxxxxxxxxx>, Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@xxxxxxxxx>, Chris Mason <chris.mason@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@xxxxxxx>, Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@xxxxxxxxx>, Shaohua Li <shaohua.li@xxxxxxxxx>, xfs@xxxxxxxxxxx, linux-btrfs@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-ext4@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-mm@xxxxxxxxx, linux-fsdevel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, linux-kernel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
In-reply-to: <1317367044-475-5-git-send-email-jweiner@xxxxxxxxxx>
References: <1317367044-475-1-git-send-email-jweiner@xxxxxxxxxx> <1317367044-475-5-git-send-email-jweiner@xxxxxxxxxx>
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Fri 30-09-11 09:17:23, Johannes Weiner wrote:
> Tell the page allocator that pages allocated through
> grab_cache_page_write_begin() are expected to become dirty soon.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@xxxxxxxxxx>
> Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@xxxxxxxxxx>
> Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@xxxxxxx>
> Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@xxxxxxxxx>

Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@xxxxxxx>

> ---
>  mm/filemap.c |    5 ++++-
>  1 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/mm/filemap.c b/mm/filemap.c
> index 645a080..cf0352d 100644
> --- a/mm/filemap.c
> +++ b/mm/filemap.c
> @@ -2349,8 +2349,11 @@ struct page *grab_cache_page_write_begin(struct 
> address_space *mapping,
>                                       pgoff_t index, unsigned flags)
>  {
>       int status;
> +     gfp_t gfp_mask;
>       struct page *page;
>       gfp_t gfp_notmask = 0;
> +
> +     gfp_mask = mapping_gfp_mask(mapping) | __GFP_WRITE;
>       if (flags & AOP_FLAG_NOFS)
>               gfp_notmask = __GFP_FS;
>  repeat:
> @@ -2358,7 +2361,7 @@ repeat:
>       if (page)
>               goto found;
>  
> -     page = __page_cache_alloc(mapping_gfp_mask(mapping) & ~gfp_notmask);
> +     page = __page_cache_alloc(gfp_mask & ~gfp_notmask);
>       if (!page)
>               return NULL;
>       status = add_to_page_cache_lru(page, mapping, index,
> -- 
> 1.7.6.2
> 
> --
> To unsubscribe, send a message with 'unsubscribe linux-mm' in
> the body to majordomo@xxxxxxxxxx  For more info on Linux MM,
> see: http://www.linux-mm.org/ .
> Fight unfair telecom internet charges in Canada: sign http://stopthemeter.ca/
> Don't email: <a href=mailto:"dont@xxxxxxxxx";> email@xxxxxxxxx </a>

-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs
SUSE LINUX s.r.o.
Lihovarska 1060/12
190 00 Praha 9    
Czech Republic

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>